Best Credit Cards for Expats in Saudi Arabia — September 2026
Saudi banks usually treat an expat as a non-Saudi resident applicant, not as a separate card tier. We researched official card pages, fee tables and application requirements on 25 August 2026. This shortlist favors products with a published Iqama or resident-document route; approval still depends on the bank's checks.
Quick comparison
| Rank | Card | Best for | Annual fee | Core terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SAB Cashback Visa | Best overall for a resident who wants no annual fee | No annual fee; confirm VAT treatment and current terms before applying. | The published digital conditions are for a new-to-bank journey, so an existing SAB relationship may follow a different route. |
| 2 | Riyad Cashback Visa Signature | Clearest published resident application path | SAR 500 before VAT; SAR 575 including 15% VAT. | The five named categories are supermarkets, restaurants, fuel or taxis, entertainment and pharmacies. |
| 3 | Emirates NBD Mazyid Cashback | Broad everyday categories with an Iqama route | Check the current product disclosure before applying; the cashback terms do not state the annual card fee. | The cashback terms cap restaurants at SAR 200, groceries at SAR 200, medical at SAR 100, education at SAR 100, airlines and hotels at SAR 100 and fast food at SAR 200 per month. |
| 4 | Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Signature | High restaurant cashback for existing Al Rajhi customers | SAR 450 before VAT; SAR 517.50 including 15% VAT. | Dining and supermarkets each have a SAR 200 monthly cap; food delivery has a separate SAR 200 cap. |
| 5 | Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Platinum | Lower-fee Al Rajhi category option | SAR 250 before VAT; SAR 287.50 including 15% VAT. | Food delivery, dining, supermarkets, other local spend and other international spend each have a SAR 200 category cap; total cashback is capped at SAR 500. |
Quick answer
SAB Cashback is the strongest first stop for many expats because it has no annual fee, a 2% eligible international base rate and a digital application that links the mobile number to a National ID or Iqama. Riyad Cashback has the clearest published non-Saudi document list. Emirates NBD Mazyid and Al Rajhi Cashback cards add strong category rates, but each has separate caps, fees or account rules.
What this category means
An expat card is not automatically a special product. It is a normal credit card whose issuer accepts a non-Saudi resident document and then checks income, employment, credit history and other policy rules. An Iqama proves residence; it does not promise approval or a particular credit limit.
Fees and main limits
| Card | Published annual fee | Main limit to check |
|---|---|---|
| SAB Cashback Visa | No annual fee; confirm VAT treatment and current terms before applying. | The 10% category rate starts only after SAR 15,000 of total eligible monthly spend; confirm the live schedule before applying. |
| Riyad Cashback Visa Signature | SAR 500 before VAT; SAR 575 including 15% VAT. | The card page does not state a minimum salary. Do not treat the salary certificate request as an approval promise. |
| Emirates NBD Mazyid Cashback | SAR 200 before VAT on the current card comparison page; verify the product disclosure before applying. | The agent route and cashback terms are separate documents; confirm the current fee, credit limit and eligible MCCs at application. |
| Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Signature | SAR 450 before VAT; SAR 517.50 including 15% VAT. | You need an Al Rajhi account and the dining rate stops at SAR 200 of cashback per month. |
| Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Platinum | SAR 250 before VAT; SAR 287.50 including 15% VAT. | The SAR 500 total cap and SAR 200 category caps limit the value once your monthly spend grows. |
How we reviewed and ranked
We ranked resident-document clarity, annual fee, international-use cost, useful cashback, category caps and application friction. We did not invent a minimum salary when the issuer did not publish one. We also separated a card's advertised reward from the conditions that can block it.
- We used issuer pages, fee schedules and terms in force on the review date.
- We kept permanent terms separate from timed offers.
- We compared net value and restrictions, not an arbitrary score.
1. SAB Cashback Visa — Best overall for a resident who wants no annual fee
SAB's new-to-bank route lists GOSI registration, a mobile number linked to the applicant's National ID or Iqama, at least three months in the current job and a NAFATH application. The card page lists 1% on eligible local spend and 2% on eligible international spend, with higher restaurant, supermarket and fuel rates after total monthly-spend tiers.
Fees and limits: No annual fee; confirm VAT treatment and current terms before applying. The 10% category rate starts only after SAR 15,000 of total eligible monthly spend; confirm the live schedule before applying.
Key features
- The published digital conditions are for a new-to-bank journey, so an existing SAB relationship may follow a different route.
- Preferred-category caps are SAR 200 for restaurants, SAR 100 for supermarkets and SAR 100 for fuel; the base local and international rates have no stated monthly cap.
Pros
- No annual fee
- 2% eligible international base rate
Cons
- The digital route has GOSI, job-tenure and NAFATH conditions
- The highest category rate needs high total spend
Best fit: You have a valid Iqama, meet SAB's new-to-bank digital conditions and want one card for local, international, restaurant, supermarket and fuel spend. Main limit: The 10% category rate starts only after SAR 15,000 of total eligible monthly spend; confirm the live schedule before applying.
2. Riyad Cashback Visa Signature — Clearest published resident application path
Riyad Bank's card page says applicants must be at least 18 and comply with the bank's and SIMAH's issuance policies. It asks non-Saudi applicants for a valid resident ID or passport and salaried applicants for a salary certificate. Cashback rises from 5% to 7% to 10% after total eligible spend of SAR 2,500, SAR 7,500 or SAR 15,000.
Fees and limits: SAR 500 before VAT; SAR 575 including 15% VAT. The card page does not state a minimum salary. Do not treat the salary certificate request as an approval promise.
Key features
- The five named categories are supermarkets, restaurants, fuel or taxis, entertainment and pharmacies.
- Category caps rise to SAR 100, SAR 150 or SAR 200 at the three spend tiers; the total cap rises to SAR 500, SAR 750 or SAR 1,000.
Pros
- Resident documents are stated on the card page
- High caps for a high-spend household
Cons
- SAR 500 annual fee before VAT
- The top rate needs SAR 15,000 of monthly spend
Best fit: You can provide a resident ID or passport and salary certificate, pass the bank and SIMAH checks and spend across the listed everyday categories. Main limit: The card page does not state a minimum salary. Do not treat the salary certificate request as an approval promise.
3. Emirates NBD Mazyid Cashback — Broad everyday categories with an Iqama route
Emirates NBD's agent-banking page says a credit-card applicant can apply without a current account using a valid Iqama or Saudi National ID and a registered mobile number. Mazyid's terms list 10% at restaurants, 5% at groceries, medical, pharmacies and education, 2% at airlines, hotels and fast food, and 0.5% on other eligible spend.
Fees and limits: SAR 200 before VAT on the current card comparison page; verify the product disclosure before applying. The agent route and cashback terms are separate documents; confirm the current fee, credit limit and eligible MCCs at application.
Key features
- The cashback terms cap restaurants at SAR 200, groceries at SAR 200, medical at SAR 100, education at SAR 100, airlines and hotels at SAR 100 and fast food at SAR 200 per month.
- Merchant category codes decide eligibility, so the shop name alone is not enough.
Pros
- Wide mix of expat-relevant household categories
- No minimum spend stated in the cashback terms
Cons
- Several separate caps
- The fee and application channel need a live check
Best fit: You want restaurants, groceries, health, education and travel categories and can track several separate monthly caps. Main limit: The agent route and cashback terms are separate documents; confirm the current fee, credit limit and eligible MCCs at application.
4. Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Signature — High restaurant cashback for existing Al Rajhi customers
Al Rajhi's current Signature table lists 10% on dining, 5% on supermarkets, 0.5% on other local spend and 2% on other international spend. It asks for an existing Al Rajhi account and a valid National ID or Iqama. The annual fee is SAR 450 before VAT and total cashback stops at SAR 500 per month.
Fees and limits: SAR 450 before VAT; SAR 517.50 including 15% VAT. You need an Al Rajhi account and the dining rate stops at SAR 200 of cashback per month.
Key features
- Dining and supermarkets each have a SAR 200 monthly cap; food delivery has a separate SAR 200 cap.
- The HungerStation headline splits 10% to the card and 5% to the HungerStation wallet, subject to its offer rules.
Pros
- 10% published dining rate
- Iqama and bank-account requirements are visible on the product page
Cons
- SAR 450 annual fee before VAT
- 2% international fee and SAR 500 total cashback cap
Best fit: You have an Al Rajhi account and valid Iqama, spend heavily on dining or food delivery and can recover the higher annual fee. Main limit: You need an Al Rajhi account and the dining rate stops at SAR 200 of cashback per month.
5. Al Rajhi Cashback Plus Platinum — Lower-fee Al Rajhi category option
The Platinum table lists 10% on food delivery, 5% on dining and supermarkets, 0.5% on other local spend and 2% on other international spend. The application asks for an existing Al Rajhi account and a valid National ID or Iqama. Its annual fee is SAR 250 before VAT.
Fees and limits: SAR 250 before VAT; SAR 287.50 including 15% VAT. The SAR 500 total cap and SAR 200 category caps limit the value once your monthly spend grows.
Key features
- Food delivery, dining, supermarkets, other local spend and other international spend each have a SAR 200 category cap; total cashback is capped at SAR 500.
- The product page lists access to 25 global airport lounges through the Visa Airport Companion program; check the app's live rule.
Pros
- Lower annual fee than Al Rajhi Signature
- 2% eligible international cashback
Cons
- Requires an Al Rajhi account
- Dining rate is lower than Signature
Best fit: You want the Al Rajhi Iqama route but your dining and food-delivery spend does not justify Signature's higher fee. Main limit: The SAR 500 total cap and SAR 200 category caps limit the value once your monthly spend grows.
Decision checklist
- Choose SAB first if no annual fee and international cashback matter most.
- Choose Riyad Cashback when you want the clearest published non-Saudi document list and can reach its tiers.
- Choose Mazyid when your spending spans health, education and groceries as well as dining.
- Choose Al Rajhi Signature for high dining spend; choose Platinum when the lower fee matters more.
- Before applying, compare the card's fee, FX charge, cap, bank-account rule and the exact application channel.
Final verdict
SAB Cashback is the cleanest starting point for many expats because its fee is zero and its digital route names the Iqama-linked checks. Riyad Cashback is the most explicit about non-Saudi application documents. Mazyid is useful for wide household categories, while Al Rajhi's two Cashback Plus cards suit existing customers who can use their caps. None of these pages promises approval; keep your Iqama, salary evidence and credit record current.
Frequently asked questions
What documents does an expat usually need?
The issuer may ask for a valid Iqama, passport, salary certificate, employment details and a mobile number registered to the Iqama. Some digital routes add GOSI, NAFATH or a minimum job period.
Is there a special credit card for expats?
Usually no. Banks issue the same card families after checking a non-Saudi resident's identity, income, employer, credit history and policy limits.
Which card has the lowest annual fee?
SAB Cashback currently states no annual fee. Confirm the live fee table and VAT treatment before applying because issuers can change terms.
Do expats have to transfer their salary?
Not every card page says so. The requirement depends on the bank, product and application route. Ask the issuer rather than assuming that an Iqama alone is enough.
What should I compare before applying?
Compare annual fee including VAT, foreign-transaction fee, cashback caps, merchant-code exclusions, bank-account or salary rules, required documents and the repayment cost if you carry a balance.
Official sources
Last reviewed: 2026-08-25. Issuers can change fees, benefits, merchant categories and offers. Read the live disclosure before applying.